Video: The Entrance Band – “No Needs”


The Entrance Band collaborated with London fashion brand Sister Jane and photographer Amanda Charchian for the video set to their new Face The Sun single, “No Needs.” Watch the space-themed video below.

For those in the New York area, The Entrance Band are performing a special birthday extravaganza with secret guests for bassist Paz Lenchantin at Baby’s All Right in Brooklyn tonight!

Purchase Face the Sun via Beyond Beyond is Beyond.

Dog Gone Presents: November 2013 Mix


Have a listen to this month’s mix, available to stream or download below.

Download Link

01. Woodsman – Healthy Life
02. The Entrance Band – Fine Flow
03. Morgan Delt – Beneath The Black And Purple
04. White Fence – To The Boy I Jumped In The Hemlock Alley
05. The Velvet Underground – Lady Godiva’s Operation
06. Quilt – Arctic Shark
07. Doug Tuttle – Turn This Love
08. Speed, Glue & Shinki – Don’t Say No
09. Amen Dunes – Ethio Song II
10. Grateful Dead – Early Morning Rain (11/3/65)
11. The Bethlehem Exit – Walk Me Out (Morning Dew)
12. The Resonars – Marina
13. Hellshovel – Summer’s Over
14. The Candymen – I’ve Lost My Mind
15. Jonathan Rado – Hand In Mine
16. Wooden Shjips – Ruins
17. Bombino – Amidinine
18. The Gaslamp Killer – Nissim feat. Amir Yaghmai
19. Endless Boogie – The Artemus Ward
20. Our Solar System – Merkurius

The Entrance Band – “Spider”

“Spider,” the second track to come off The Entrance Band’s forthcoming Face the Sun LP, was presumably written before the band member’s collective journey towards sobriety. Singer Guy Blakeslee tells the drugged-out tale of his interaction with a particular spider, as sparse nylon-stringed guitar dances atop a Southwestern-style rhythm and an eery harpsichord lurks in the outer reaches. While much of the album’s lyrical content deals with the actual transformation from dark to light, this song seems to take place before the journey had ever begun.

Face the Sun comes out on November 19 via Beyond Beyond is Beyond. Pre-order the album now.

The Entrance Band – “Fire Eyes”

It’s been four years since The Entrance Band released a new album unto the world, and during that time much has changed with its three members. From personal struggles to spiritual transformations, during the time between albums guitarist Guy Blakeslee, bassist Paz Lenchantin and drummer Derek James journeyed through the depths of the dark, only to reach the surface with a brighter and more inspired outlook than ever before. That process, along with all its joys and hardships, is documented on their forthcoming album, Face the Sun, which comes out on November 19 via new Brooklyn label Beyond Beyond is Beyond. You can hear the scorching first tune, “Fire Eyes,” below.

Pre-order the long-awaited Face the Sun via BBIB.

Premiere: The Entrance Band – “Back In The City” (Video)

Entrance Dans La Tempete EP cover small
The video for “Back In The City,” the latest from LA psych juggernauts The Entrance Band, finds the group cast behind a veil of video-feedback as footage of their hometown races by as if to capture the rapid pace of city life. Taken from their new EP, Dans La Tempete, released last week on Spiritual Pajamas, “Back In The City” recalls the howling garage-rock of earlier Entrance releases, setting itself apart from the more spiritual, French-sung “Le Manque” and the transcendent instrumental “Mellow Fantastic.” While we’re unsure exactly where they’ve been all this time, it seems the city brings out a grittier side of The Entrance Band, and, for now, it’s a pleasure to have them back. Video directed by Brendan Burdzinski.

Purchase the limited 12″ vinyl and digital download of the Dans La Tempete EP via Spiritual Pajamas. Also be sure to read our recent interview with The Entrance Band’s Guy Blakeslee.