Sunforest – “Magician In The Mountain” (1969)

The story of Sunforest begins in 1969, when three American friends–Terry Tucker, Erika Eigen and Freya Hogue–set course for London in hopes of becoming pop singers. Almost immediately after their arrival, they were spotted drinking tea in a local cafe by legendary U.K. producer Vic Coppersmith-Heaven and were ushered into a studio to record a demo that very night. Just weeks later, they recorded their first and only album, Sound of Sunforest, a collection of psych-folk songs released on Decca Records that same year. The record sold very few copies and, not long after its release, the group permanently disbanded. An interesting factoid about this album, however, is that while working on A Clockwork Orange, director Stanley Kubrick heard the album and asked the band to re-record two songs, “Overture to the Sun” and “I Want to Marry a Lighthouse Keeper,” for the soundtrack.

Sunforest – “Magician In The Mountain”

DGB June 2013 Mix


This month’s mix, now available in multi and single track formats. Download or stream below.

Dog Gone Blog June 2013 Mix

Download individual song files.

01. Relatively Clean Rivers – Hello Sunshine
02. Sunforest – Magician in the Mountain
03. Buffy St. Marie – Better Find Out For Yourself
04. Ahmad Zahir – Che Kelaf Sar Zad Az Mah
05. White Fence – Chairs In The Dark
06. Quilt – Open Eyes
07. The British North America Act – Baby Jane Days and Nights
08. Elephant Stone – Sally Go Round The Sun
09. Sudden Death of Stars – – Free & Easy
10. The Auras – Desert Dream (Nothing Is Real)
11. Tess Parks – Life Is But A Dream
12. Silver Apples – Oscillations
13. Deerhunter – Blue Agent
14. Popol Vuh – In Deine Ha¨nde
15. Mazhar ve Fuat – Adımız Miskindir Bizim
16. Brian Jonestown Massacre – Anenome
17. Goat – Run To Your Mama
18. Worthless – Fabrosaurus Freakout
19. Angus MacLise – Shortwave-India
20. Acid Mothers Temple – Message from Outer Space