NEW MUSIC: The UFO Club ~ “July”

The UFO Club is a group led by The Black Angels’ Christian Bland and Night Beats’ Lee Blackwell that takes a note from each of the aforementioned groups and twists it through a hazy lens of 50s pop and 60s psychedelia. Earlier this year, they released their debut 10″ on Austin Psych Fest’s in house label in June and it sold out before it could even hit shelves. They’ve now followed up that 10″ with a proper self-titled full length that pays homage to the British psych scene of the 1960s, much of which passed through the legendary London haunt from which the group takes its name. Reverb swamped feedback and hazy Barrett-style rants soaked in mushroom tea mesh with tinny garage anthems on this 11 track masterpiece. Stream album track “July” below, realize how good it is, then buy the album here.

NEW MUSIC: The Spyrals

Spyrals, the debut self-titled full-length from San Francisco psych-rockers The Spyrals, is yet another impressive garage-y sounding record to come out of the Bay Area in the past year. Recorded at the band’s own studio on an eight-track reel to reel, the album shows two faces—one that recalls contemporaries The Fresh and Onlys or Women with a psych-pop sound, the other a heavier, droned out improvisational sound that ventures freely into the void. The nine reverb-drenched tracks offer up a mix of catchy guitar riffs and crashing percussion with a bluesy tinge added by the slide and harmonica work. Stream it below or purchase it from The Spyrals bandcamp site. You can also check out their video for album track “Trying To Please.”

DGB 2011 New Music Mix

[Original art by Sean Metcalf]

We post a great deal of new music on this site, as well as on our Twitter feed and especially our Facebook page. With all of this new music, it’s understandable if one or more of these artists my have evaded your ears. And so, as we approach the end of the year we’ve compiled a mix featuring some of our favorite songs posted over the last 12 months. Stream/download below.

Download Link

01. Woodsman – View From The Vision Hand
02. White Fence – Growing Faith
03. Run DMT – Richard
04. Twerps – Dreamin’
05. Nightlands – Trouble (Lindsey Buckingham cover)
06. Julian Lynch – Terra
07. Minerva Lions – Megrims
08. The War On Drugs – It’s Your Destiny
09. Rangers – Conversations On The Jet Stream
10. Spectre Folk – The Blackest Medicine
11. Spectrals – Doing Time
12. Amen Dunes – Bedroom Drum
13. Pure X – Dry Ice
14. Jeffertitti’s Nile – Mountain Jam
15. The Paperhead – Back To Those Days
16. Quilt – Penobska Oakwalk
17. Pancho San – Kick The Fences Down
18. Silver Pines – Timefather
19. Alex Bleeker & The Freaks – Getting By
20. Magic Trick – Daylight Moon
21. Peaking Lights – Birds Of Paradise (Dub Version)
22. Superhuman Happiness – Human Happiness